Pizer’s Weblog

programming, DSP, math

Books, Books, Books (on C++)

with 5 comments

I already said it once in another post but I think it deserves to be mentioned again: Don’t underestimate the usefulness of good books about C++! Prefer buying a good book over searching the internet for tutorials, examples, explanations if you want to learn the language and/or learn about useful idioms, guidelines, etc…

I recently added two other books to my personal library: “Effective C++” and “C++ Coding Standards”. It took me only 3 weeks to finish both books. That means they were interesting and insightful. :-)

Now, it’s these four C++ books that are in my posession:

  • The C++ Programming Language (Special Edition) by Bjarne Stroustrup
  • Modern C++ Design by Andrei Alexandrescu
  • Effective C++ (Third Edition) by Scott Meyers
  • C++ Coding Standards by Herb Sutter & Andrei Alexandrescu

I wouldn’t mention them here if I didn’t like them. :-)

- P

Written by pizer

February 22, 2009 at 2:01 am

Posted in Programming

Tagged with , , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have “More Effective C++” from Scott Meyers. I wonder the difference between two. Any idea? Thank you.

    Matt Chuang

    March 13, 2009 at 10:57 am

  2. Hello Matt!

    I havn’t read “More Effective c++” yet. I think it’s like an “expansion pack” (covering other topics) which is why I bought “Effective C++” first.

    pizer

    March 13, 2009 at 11:24 am

  3. I just completed data structure course using C++, Do I still have a “looooong” way to go before able to program in industrial level? Sorry it looks like a dumb question but it’s been bothering me for two years already.

    On the other hand, I don’t see there’s courses specifically talk about STL which I think it’s important. What do you think I should do on my own now? Read throughout The C++ Programming Language before STL and others, or vice versa?

    Sorry for asking questions not related to your post here. I really appreciate it. Thank you very much.

    Matt Chuang

    March 13, 2009 at 3:27 pm

  4. Matt> Do I have a “looooong” way to go before able to program in industrial level?”

    Maybe. I can’t tell for sure, really. It depends on your experience and other skills I guess. For someone who already has programming experience and wants to switch to C++ it takes about 6 to 12 months to get really familiar with the “C++ style”, I suppose.

    C++ is kind of an interesting beast. During the early learning stages my perception of my C++ skills oscillated between “Ok, now I know all of C++” and “Wow! I know almost nothing about C++”. It tends to stabilize over time. I feel rather confident now and that hasn’t changed much during the last ten months or so. Still, it’s not like I don’t learn anything new anymore.

    I’m not talking about the language’s syntax/semantics only. Obviously a firm grasp of the language’s syntax/semantics alone doesn’t make you a good programmer. I would say a big part of being a good programmer is good abstract thinking skills, good design skills, knowledge about many useful idioms and patterns and of course experience.

    I would say the books “TC++PL” and “Effective C++” are must-have. So, I’m in agreement with the C++ FAQ. I’ll probably check out some STL book and see how useful it can be in addition to an online library reference like this one

    pizer

    March 13, 2009 at 4:29 pm

  5. wow great info! i already have Stroustrup’s book, but i’m still saving for Effective C++.

    i also am reading the C++ primer by stanley lippman :)

    zeromonth

    May 14, 2009 at 1:46 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

